Home Celebrity Sons of Anarchy’ Actor William Lucking Dies at 80

Sons of Anarchy’ Actor William Lucking Dies at 80

47
0

Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80
Sons of Anarchy' Actor William Lucking Dies at 80

It’s never easy to say goodbye. Larry King, Christopher Plummer and Cecily Tyson are among the celebrities who died in 2021, leaving those in their wake heartbroken.

Dustin Diamond died on February 1 at age 44 after a battle with stage IV small cell carcinoma. “He was diagnosed with this brutal, relentless form of malignant cancer only three weeks ago. In that time, it managed to spread rapidly throughout his system; the only mercy it exhibited was its sharp and swift execution,” his rep told Us Weekly in a statement at the time. “Dustin did not suffer. He did not have to lie submerged in pain. For that, we are grateful.”

The actor’s Saved by the Bell costars paid tribute to him after news of his death. “I’m deeply saddened to hear of the passing of Dustin Diamond, a true comedic genius. My sincere condolences to his family and friends,” Mark-Paul Gosselaar told Us in a statement. “Looking back at our time working together, I will miss those raw, brilliant sparks that only he was able to produce. A pie in your face, my comrade.”

Mario Lopez, meanwhile, wrote via Instagram: “Dustin, you will be missed my man. The fragility of this life is something never to be taken for granted. Prayers for your family will continue on.”

Tiffani Thiessen echoed Lopez’s sentiments in an Instagram post of her own. “I am deeply saddened by the news of my old co-star @realdustindiamond passing,” she captioned a photo of Diamond. “Life is extremely fragile and it’s something we should never take for granted. God speed Dustin.”

Later that month, fans lost an iconic figure in Christopher Plummer, who died at age 91. “Chris was an extraordinary man who deeply loved and respected his profession with great old fashion manners, self deprecating humor and the music of words,” his longtime manager said in a statement to Us on February 5. “He was a National Treasure who deeply relished his Canadian roots. Through his art and humanity, he touched all of our hearts and his legendary life will endure for all generations to come. He will forever be with us.”

The Oscar winner’s Sound of Music costar Julie Andrews honored him after his death. “The world has lost a consummate actor today. And I have lost a cherished friend,” the actress told Us in a statement. “I treasure the memories of our work together and all the humor and fun we shared through the years. My heart and condolences go out to his lovely wife Elaine, and his daughter Amanda.”

Scroll down to see Us’ tribute to the celebrities who died in 2021.

Jo-Carroll Dennison
The oldest surviving former Miss America, who won during World War II, died on October 18. She was 97. Her son Peter Stoneham confirmed the news to the New York Times, telling the outlet, “There was a definite Dickensian aspect to her story,” while noting her life, “was absolutely crammed with wonderful characters.”
Glasshouse Images/Shutterstock
Huey Haha
“Rest In Peace to Huey Ha,” read a post on the YouTube star’s official Instagram on October 27. “Huey Ha passed away October 25, 2021. He loved and appreciated every single one of his supporters.”
Although no details were given about his cause of death, the announcement mentioned that Haha was survived by his daughter.
Courtesy Huey Haha/Instagram
James Michael Tyler
The actor, best known for playing Gunther on Friends, died on October 24. Earlier this year, he revealed he’d privately battled prostate cancer since 2018. Though treatment initially helped him go about his life, the disease progressed recently, he told Today during a June appearance.
“I missed going in for a test, which was not a good thing,” Tyler said at the time. “So the cancer decided to mutate at the time of the pandemic, and so it’s progressed. … Next time you go in for just a basic exam or your yearly checkup, please ask your doctor for a PSA test. It’s easily detectable. … If it spreads beyond the prostate to the bones, which is most prevalent in my form, it can be a lot more difficult to deal with.”
Ken McKay/ITV/Shutterstock
Peter Scolari
The Bosom Buddies and Newhart alum died on October 22 at age 66. He had battled cancer for two years.
Paul Buck/EPA/Shutterstock
Leslie Bricusse
The Oscar-winning songwriter died on October 19 at the age of 90. Bricusse was best known for penning the theme song for the James Bond franchise’s Goldfinger, Willa Wonka’s “Candy Man” and Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good.” The composer’s son, Adam Bricusse, confirmed his death via Facebook, writing, “My dearest father passed away peacefully this morning. Please raise a glass for him. Love. Forever. RIP Dad.”
Piers Allardyce/Shutterstock
Chris Ayres
The Dragon Ball voice actor died on October 18 at the age of 56. Ayres’ girlfriend, Krystal LaPorte, confirmed his passing via Twitter, saying her world “went dark” when he died. “Christopher Owen Ayres passed away peacefully, held close by his mother, brother, and girlfriend,” she tweeted. The anime actor’s cause of death wasn’t immediately released, but he had been battling end-stage cardiac obstructive pulmonary disease since 2017.
Guillermo Proano/WENN/Newscom/MEGA
Colin Powell
The first Black secretary of state died at age 84 on October 18, his family revealed in a statement via Facebook. They shared that while he was vaccinated, his death was caused by “complications from Covid 19.”
Sipa/Shutterstock
Betty Lynn
The Andy Griffith Show alum “died peacefully” on October 16, “after a brief illness,” the Andy Griffith Museum shared at the time on their website. She was 95.
Moviestore/Shutterstock
Dorothy Steel
The actress, who played the Merchant Tribe Elder in Black Panther and the forthcoming sequel, died on October 15. She was 95.
“It’s with a Heavy heart I announce this morning Dorothy Steel transitioned this morning in her hometown of Detroit.  That is what she wanted to be home,” her agent, Cindy Butler, confirmed the news via a Facebook post. “Thank you Ms. Dorothy for giving me the opportunity to ride this wave with you.  Thank you for all the Casting Directors who hired Ms. Dorothy.  Thank you to the world for loving on her from afar.  I received calls from all over the world wanting to interview or do a Bio pic of her life.  She was very selective. … WAKANDAFOREVER.”
Steve TV/YouTube
Ricarlo Flanagan
The actor, who appeared on Shameless, Insecure, Last Comic Standing and more, died at age 40, his agent announced on October 12. He contracted COVID-19 weeks before his death. His cause of death has not been confirmed.
“Ricarlo was one of the nicest people I have ever met in my life and a joy to work for. He will be missed dearly,” Stu Golfman of KMR Talent told Deadline.
Courtesy of Ricarlo Flanagan/Instagram
Ruthie Tompson
The Disney animator died on October 10 at the age of 111. Tompson was a pioneer for the studio, working as an illustrator and storyboard planner on Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Sleeping Beauty, Mary Poppins, Robin Hood and The Aristocats among others.
Shutterstock (2)
Granville Adams
The actor, who portrayed Zahir Arif for six seasons on HBO’s Oz, died at age 58 after battling cancer. The show’s creator, Tom Fontana, confirmed the news via social media on October 10 after previously helping set up a GoFundMe to help Adams cover the costs of his treatment.
Shutterstock
Fuller Goldsmith
The 2017 Chopped Junior champion died at age 17 following a 13-year cancer battle. Magical Elves, the production company behind Top Chef Junior, confirmed the news via Instagram on October 6.
“We are devastated after hearing about the loss of our Top Chef Junior alum, Fuller Goldsmith,” the social media post read, alongside photos from Goldsmith’s culinary competitions. “He was an incredible chef and the strongest kid we’ve ever met. From the minute he was introduced to us, we knew he would make an impact on everyone around him and be a positive force in cooking world. To his family, we give all our love as they mourn the loss of someone truly special. 💜”
Courtesy of Fuller Goldsmith/Instagram
Justin Thornton
The MMA fighter’s death was confirmed on October 4, more than one month after he was knocked out during the Bare Knuckle Fighting Championship in Mississippi. He was 38.
Facebook
Alan Kalter
Known for working with David Letterman on CBS’ The Late Show, the announcer died on October 4 in Stamford, Connecticut, at the age of 78. Per The Hollywood Reporter, his wife, Peggy, and daughters were by his side.
Diane Bondareff/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Marc Pilcher
The Bridgerton crew member died at 53 after contracting the coronavirus, Nicola Coughlan confirmed via social media on October 4. One month prior, Pilcher and his collaborators won the Emmy for Outstanding Period and/or Character Hairstyling.
Courtesy of Nicola Coughlan/Instagram
Gabriel Salazar
The TikTok star died on September 26 at the age of 19 following a police chase. Salazar was behind the wheel during the fatal crash that killed him and three other people. A GoFundMe page was created by Chris Vazquez to assist Salazar’s family. “I don’t know what’s real and not real anymore. We couldn’t believe it the moment we found out,” Vazquez wrote. “Don’t really want to get into details because it’s so hard for us to even talk about the pain he went through. Never expected this happen but now you’re watching over us.”
Courtesy of Gabriel Salazar/TikTok
Tommy Kirk
The Old Yeller child star died in September 2021 at the age of 79.
“My friend of many decades, Tommy Kirk, was found dead last night.  You will surely recall his string of Disney movies; Shaggy Dog. Ol’ Yeller, etc.,” former child star Paul Petersen wrote via Facebook, confirming the news of his friend’s death on September 29. “Tommy was intensely private.  He lived alone in Las Vegas, close to his friend … and Ol Yeller co-star, Bev Washburn … and it was she who called me this morning. Tommy was gay and estranged from what remains of his blood-family.  We in A Minor Consideration are Tommy’s family.  Without apology. We will take care of this. Please know that Tommy Kirk loved you, his fans.  You lifted him up when an Industry let him down in 1965.  He was not bitter.  His church comforted him.  May God have mercy on his soul.”
Disney/Kobal/Shutterstock
Mel Thompson
The YouTube star and makeup artist died on September 26 at age 35. 
“We lost a beautiful soul,” her husband, Puffin Thompson, wrote via Instagram, adding that he had answered “so many texts of people just checking in on her without even knowing of her passing. It’s great to see how loved she was. And she loved all you right back. I’ll continue to love her and miss her forever.”
Courtesy Mel Thompson/Instagram
Roger Michell
The Notting Hill director died at the age of 65 on September 22, his family confirmed in a statement released by his publicist.
The 1999 film’s star, Julia Roberts, paid tribute to the late director, calling him “a kind and gentle man” who she felt “so fortunate” to have worked with.
“He always had a sweet grin on his face and a perfect piece of direction to share,” she said in a September 23 statement via E!.
Andrew H. Walker/Shutterstock
Willie Garson
The Sex and the City alum died at age 57, his family confirmed on September 21.
Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Richard Buckley
“It is with great sadness that Tom Ford announces the death of his beloved husband of 35 years, Richard Buckley,” Ford’s reps said in a statement to Us on September 21. “Richard passed away peacefully at their home in Los Angeles Sunday night with Tom and their son Jack by his side. He died of natural causes after a prolonged illness.”
The well-known fashion editor, who worked with publications such as Vanity Fair, Italian Vogue and New York Magazine, died at the age of 72.
Richard Young/Shutterstock
Sarah Dash
The singer and former member of R&B trio Labelle passed away on September 20 at the age of 76.
“We were just onstage together on Saturday and it was such a powerful and special moment,” Patti LaBelle tweeted at the time. “Sarah Dash was an awesomely talented, beautiful and loving soul who blessed my life and the lives of so many others in more ways than I can say. I could always count on her to have my back. That’s who Sarah was … a loyal friend and a voice for those who didn’t have one. She was a true giver, always serving and sharing her talent and time.”
Charles Sykes/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Anthony ‘A.J.’ Johnson
The comedian, known for his work in Friday and House Party, died on September 6 at age 55, his rep, LyNea Bell, confirmed to Deadline weeks later. “The world of comedy has truly been shaken, again,” Bell noted at the time. “Our BH Talent family is heartbroken about the loss of the iconic legend of stage and screen Mr. Anthony ‘A.J.’ Johnson. He has left with us amazing memories of his laughter, dynamic acting skills, but most of all his enormous personality and heart of gold.”
The statement continued, “We will be in constant prayer for his entire family including his wife Lexis, three children, brother Edward ‘Peanut’ Smith, sister Sheila, and lifetime manager and friend Mike D. Please give them the time they need to process and grieve such a huge loss.”
Courtesy Flaqko/YouTube
Jane Powell
The actress, best known for her Golden Age musicals, died at the age of 92 on September 16. Powell starred in hits including A Date With Judy, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Royal Wedding and Hit the Deck.
Gregory Pace/BEI/Shutterstock
Norm Macdonald
The Saturday Night Live alum’s manager announced his death on September 14, after the comedian’s nine-year private battle with cancer. He was 61. “He was most proud of his comedy,” Macdonald’s longtime producing partner Lori Jo Hoekstra told Us in a statement. “He never wanted the diagnosis to affect the way the audience or any of his loved ones saw him. Norm was a pure comic. He once wrote that ‘a joke should catch someone by surprise, it should never pander.’ He certainly never pandered. Norm will be missed terribly.”
Jim Smeal/BEI/Shutterstock
Michael Constantine
The actor, best known for his role in My Big Fat Greek Wedding, died on August 31, his publicist confirmed on September 8. He was 94.
Dave Allocca/Starpix/Shutterstock
Michael K. Williams
The Boardwalk Empire alum died at age 54, The Hollywood Reporter reported on September 6.
Matt Baron/Shutterstock
Sarah Harding
The former Girl’s Aloud crooner died in September after battling cancer. She was 39.
Her mother, Marie Hardman, confirmed the news via a statement on the singer’s Instagram. “It’s with deep heartbreak that today I’m sharing the news that my beautiful daughter Sarah has sadly passed away,” the statement read. “Many of you will know of Sarah’s battle with cancer and that she fought so strongly from her diagnosis until her last day. She slipped away peacefully this morning. I’d like to thank everyone for their kind support over the past year. It meant the world to Sarah and it gave her great strength and comfort to know she was loved. I know she won’t want to be remembered for her fight against this terrible disease — she was a bright shining star and I hope that’s how she can be remembered instead.”
David Fisher/Shutterstock
Willard Scott
The former Today weatherman’s death was announced by Al Roker.
“We lost a beloved member of our @todayshow family this morning. Willard Scott passed peacefully at the age of 87 surrounded by family, including his daughters Sally and Mary and his lovely wife, Paris,” Roker captioned a photo of him and Scott on September 4. “He was truly my second dad and am where I am today because of his generous spirit. Willard was a man of his times, the ultimate broadcaster. There will never be anyone quite like him.”
Before he was a weatherman, he was a clown. Scott was known as Bozo the Clown in Washington, D.C., and he was also the original Ronald McDonald.
Ivan Nikolov/WENN/Newscom/The Mega Agency
Gregg Leakes
The husband of NeNe Leakes died on September 1 at age 66 after a battle with colon cancer. “Today the Leakes family is in deep pain with a broken heart. After a long battle with cancer, Gregg Leakes has passed away peacefully in his home surrounded by all of his children, very close loved ones and wife Nene Leakes,” a representative for the family said in a statement. “We ask that you pray for peace and strength over their family & allow them to mourn in private during this very very difficult time.”
The real estate investor was first diagnosed in June 2018 but was declared cancer-free 11 months later. In June 2021, NeNe revealed that Gregg’s cancer had returned. Two months later, she told fans at her Linnethia Lounge that he was dying. “My husband is transitioning to the other side,” she said in August. “You don’t know what we’re dealing with right now.” 
Diane Bondareff/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Ed Asner
The Mary Tyler Moore Show alum died peacefully in his home on August 29 at age 91.
“We are sorry to say that our beloved patriarch passed away this morning peacefully,” a statement on his official Twitter account read. “Words cannot express the sadness we feel. With a kiss on your head — Goodnight dad. We love you.”
Rebecca Cabage/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Matthew Mindler
The former child actor died on August 28 after he was reported missing two days earlier, days after starting college at Millersville University in Millersville, Pennsylvania.
The university confirmed the news via Twitter, writing, “It is with a grieving heart that I let you know of the death of 19-year-old Matthew Mindler from Hellertown, Pennsylvania, a first-year student at Millersville University.”
The statement continued, “A search had been underway for Matthew since Thursday, after he was reported missing. Matthew was found deceased this morning, Saturday, August 28, in Manor Township near campus.” An official cause of death was not announced.
Marion Curtis/Starpix/Shutterstock
Michael Nader
The Dynasty alum’s wife, Jodi Lister, confirmed on August 25, that Nader died at home in California after battling an untreatable form of cancer. The actor, who was also known for his role on All My Children, was 76. “With a heavy heart, I’m sharing the news of the passing of my beloved, Michael. We had 18 wonderful years together with the many dogs we fostered and adopted,” Lister said in a statement to MichaelFairmanTV.com. “Recently, Michael was so thrilled to reconnect with his friends from the cast of Dynasty during Emma Samms virtual event to help raise funds for Long-Covid research. He was a beautiful and fascinating man with many talents and skills. I will miss him forever.”
Nils Jorgensen/Shutterstock
Serge Onik
News broke on August 24 that the So You Think You Can Dance alum had died. He was 33. His cause of death was not publicly announced.
Paul A Hebert/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Don Everly
The Everly Brothers performer died at the age of 84 in Nashville, a family spokesperson confirmed to the Los Angeles Times on August 21.
“Don lived by what he felt in his heart,” a statement to the outlet read. “Don expressed his appreciation for the ability to live his dreams … with his soulmate and wife, Adela, and sharing the music that made him an Everly Brother.”
AFF-USA/Shutterstock
Una Stubbs
The Sherlock actress, who played Mrs. Hudson on the series, died on August 12 at the age of 84. “Mum passed away quietly today with her family around her, in Edinburgh. We ask for privacy and understanding at this most difficult and sad of times,” the family said in a statement after Stubbs’ agent confirmed to Deadline that the English actress passed away following an illness. 
Dan Wooller/Shutterstock
Jane Withers
The former child star died at age 95 on August 7, her daughter Kendall Errair confirmed in a statement. Withers was known for her work in the 1934 film Bright Eyes, which also starred Shirley Temple, and later made a name for herself in commercials.
Alan Berliner/BEI/Shutterstock
Trevor Moore
The comedian, who was a co-founder of comedy group The Whitest Kids You Know, died Friday, August 6. He was 41. Moore’s manager confirmed his death to Deadline, who only listed the cause as “an accident.” 
Moore is survived by his wife Aimee Carlson, son August and other extended family members. His loved ones issued a statement: 
“We are devastated by the loss of my husband, best friend and the father of our son. He was known as a writer and comedian to millions, and yet to us he was simply the center of our whole world. We don’t know how we’ll go on without him, but we’re thankful for the memories we do have that will stay with us forever. We appreciate the outpouring of love and support we have received from everyone. This is a tragic and sudden loss and we ask that you please respect our privacy during this time of grieving.”
Gregory Pace/BEI/Shutterstock
Markie Post
The Night Court actress died Saturday, August 7, after a nearly four-year battle with cancer. She was 70.
Post’s career began in 1979 with classic shows like CHiPs, The Love Boat and Cheers. She also had a memorable role as Cameron Diaz’s mother in the 1998 film There’s Something About Mary. In recent years, she appeared on Scrubs, 30 Rock and Chicago P.D., and she even made Lifetime’s Four Christmases and a Wedding and ABC’s The Kids Are Alright between rounds of chemotherapy.
The actress is survived by her husband, Michael A. Ross, daughters Kate Armstrong Ross and Daisy Schoenborn, son-in-law Bryce Schoenborn and a granddaughter, 5 months.
Richard Shotwell/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Dee Tee Thomas
Kool & the Gang co-founder Dennis “Dee Tee” Thomas died in August 2021. A spokesperson said via NBC News the saxophone player died in his sleep. He was 70.
Brad Barket/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Gina Krasley
The My 600-Lb. Life star died at home in New Jersey on August 1 after documenting her journey on the TLC reality show. She was 30.
Discovery+
Jay Pickett
The soap star died on Friday, July 30, at the age of 60, his costar Jim Heffel confirmed via Facebook. “Yesterday I lost a good friend and the world lost a great person,” Heffel wrote. “Jay Pickett decided to ride off into the Heavens. Jay died sitting on a horse ready to rope a steer in the movie Treasure Valley in Idaho. The way of a true cowboy. Jay wrote the story and starred in it. He was also coproducer with myself and Vernon Walker. He will be truly missed. Ride like the wind partner [sic].”
The movie’s director, Travis Mills, shared a note of his own via the movie’s Facebook page on Sunday, August 1. He wrote, “Many of you have already heard about the tragedy that happened two days ago. Jay Pickett, our leading man, writer, producer and creator of this movie passed away suddenly while we were on location preparing to film a scene. There is no official explanation for the cause of his death but it appears to have been a heart attack. Everyone present tried as hard as they could to keep him alive. Our hearts are broken and we grieve for his family who are so devastated by this shocking tragedy.”
Courtesy Jay Pickett/Instagram
Anthony Barajas
The TikTok star, known by his username @itsanthonymichael, died on July 31 due to his injuries from a shooting five days earlier, police confirmed. The 19-year-old was in a Corona, California, movie theater watching The Forever Purge when a shooter opened fire. While another victim died immediately, Barajas spent days on life support before succumbing to his injuries. A suspect is in custody.
Courtesy Anthony Michael/Instagram
Saginaw Grant
The Lone Ranger actor died in his sleep of natural causes at a private care facility in Hollywood on July 28. He was 85. “His motto in life was always respect one another and don’t talk about one another in a negative way,” Grant’s publicist, Lani Carmichael, told the Associated Press.
Richard Shotwell/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Dusty Hill
The remaining ZZ Top members confirmed the death of the bassist and cofounder on July 28 via Facebook. Hill was 72. “We are saddened by the news today that our Compadre, Dusty Hill, has passed away in his sleep at home in Houston, Texas,” the statement read. “We, along with legions of ZZ Top fans around the world, will miss your steadfast presence, your good nature and enduring commitment to providing that monumental bottom to the ‘Top.’ We will forever be connected to that ‘Blues Shuffle in C.’ You will be missed greatly, amigo. Frank & Billy.” Hill’s passing comes just five days after he suffered a hip injury that resulted in him stepping back from one of the rock band’s 2021-2022 North American tour stops.
Larry Marano/Shutterstock
Jackie Mason
The Emmy- and Tony-winning comedian died peacefully on Saturday, July 24 in Manhattan at the age of 93, his lawyer confirmed to The New York Times. Mason, who was a master of the “Borscht Belt” style of comedy, had been hospitalized for two weeks prior with difficulty breathing.
Stuart Clarke/Shutterstock
Mike Mitchell
The Gladiator actor died after a heart attack while on a boat in Turkey. He was 65. The bodybuilder, who also appeared in Braveheart, is survived by wife Denise Mitchell and their children.
YouTube
Mat George
The “She Rates Dogs” podcast host died on Saturday, July 18 following a hit-and-run collision in Los Angeles. He was 26.
George’s cohost Michaela Okland confirmed the news via Twitter. “I would rather you guys here this from me than a news article,” she wrote at the time. “Mat was killed in a hit and run last night. I don’t really have any other words right now. I wish I could contact everybody who knows him personally but the news is already out and I just can’t do it right now.”
Courtesy of Mat George/Instagram
Biz Markie
The “Just a Friend” rapper died on July 16 at age 57 following complications from diabetes, which the performer had suffered from for more than a year. Markie (real name Marcel Theo Hall) died in a Baltimore hospital with his wife, Tara Hall, at his side.
“We are grateful for the many calls and prayers of support that we have received during this difficult time,” a rep for the rapper told TMZ at the time. “Biz created a legacy of artistry that will forever be celebrated by his industry peers and his beloved fans whose lives he was able to touch through music, spanning over 35 years. He leaves behind a wife, many family members and close friends who will miss his vibrant personality, constant jokes and frequent banter.”
Jim Smeal/Shutterstock
William Smith
The star of 1980’s Any Which Way You Can died at age 88 on July 5. His wife, Joanne Cervelli Smith, did not reveal his cause of death but said he passed at the Motion Picture & Television Country House and Hospital in Woodland Hills, California, according to The Hollywood Reporter. He was known for his work on TV in Rich Man, Poor Man (1976) and Hawaii Five-0 (1979-80) as well as films such as The Losers (1970), Conan the Barbarian (1982) and Red Dawn (1984). 
He is survived by his wife and his children, William E. Smith III and Sherri Anne Cervelli. 
Aip/Kobal/Shutterstock
Robert Downey Sr.
Robert Downey Jr. confirmed his father’s death on July 7. “RIP Bob D. Sr. 1936-2021,” the Iron Man star wrote via Instagram. “Last night, dad passed peacefully in his sleep after years of enduring the ravages of Parkinson’s. He was a true maverick filmmaker, and remained remarkably optimistic throughout. According to my stepmoms [sic] calculations, they were happily married for just over 2000 years. Rosemary Rogers-Downey, you are a saint, and our thoughts and prayers are with you.” The late actor and director was 85.
Damian Dovarganes/AP/Shutterstock
Suzzanne Douglas
“Suzzanne Douglas a beautiful and talented actress made her transition today. She warmed our hearts on movie screens and television sets all over the world. This beautiful soul was my cousin,” the When They See Us star’s cousin Angie Tee posted via Facebook in July 2021.
She continued: “I can remember growing up, there weren’t very many black actresses who had starring roles but there was my cousin with the lead role in Tap starring alongside great dancers such as Gregory Hines and Sammy Davis Jr. She also performed with Angela Bassett and Whoopi Goldberg in How Stella Got Her Groove Back. The Inkwell, Jason’s Lyric and so much more the list goes on. The world will miss your talent but your soul will live on forever. Rest in Paradise my beautiful cousin Suzzane you will be missed RIP.”
Stephen Lovekin/Shutterstock
Matiss Kivlenieks
The Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender died on July 4 after suffering a head injury in Michigan following an Independence Day incident, police said, noting there was a “fireworks malfunction” where Kivlenieks fell while “escaping a hot tub.” He was 24. 
“We are shocked and saddened by the loss of Matiss Kivlenieks, and we extend our deepest sympathies to his mother, Astrida, his family and friends during this devastating time,” Blue Jackets President of Hockey Operations, John Davidson, said in a statement on July 5. “Kivi was an outstanding young man who greeted every day and everyone with a smile and the impact he had during his four years with our organization will not be forgotten.”
Courtesy Matiss Kivlenieks/Instagram; Kathy Willens/AP/Shutterstock
Max Rosenthal
The Everybody Loves Raymond actor and father of the show’s creator, Phil Rosenthal, died at age 95, his son confirmed via Instagram on June 27. 
“As heartbroken as we are, we are so grateful that he was our dad, our grandpa, our friend, our favorite and funniest TV star, and the role model for how to live 95 years while being sweet, gentle, kind, compassionate and really really funny . Will have more to say, later. Lost the biggest influence in my life. I know you loved him too and I’m sad for all of us today,” Phil wrote. “I love you Dad. You live on forever in us, your family, and the friends you’ve made around the world.”
Courtesy of Phil Rosenthal/Instagram
Johnny Solinger
The former Skid Row singer died in June at age 55, a month after revealing he was struggling with liver failure. Band members announced his passing on Instagram, “We are saddened to hear the news of our brother Johnny Solinger,” the official account shared. “Our thoughts are with his family, friends and fans. Godspeed Singo.”
Solinger replaced Sebastian Bach as the frontman in 1999, and he left the band in 2015.
UPI Photo/Roger Williams/Newscom/Mega
Lisa Banes
The Gone Girl actress, whose long television and stage career led her to appear in shows such as One Life to Live, Royal Pains and Nashville, died on June 13 due to injuries sustained after a hit-and-run scooter accident in New York City. She was 65.
Victoria Will/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Ned Beatty
The Deliverance actor died of natural causes at his Los Angeles home on June 13 in Los Angeles. Beatty was 83. The star appeared in films such as Nashville (1975), All the President’s Men (1976) and Superman (1978). In his later years, Warren starred in Charlie Wilson’s War (2007) and voiced Lotso, the main villain in Toy Story 3 (2010).
Beatty is survived by wife Sandra Johnson as well as his children from his previous relationships: Blossom, Doug, twins Charles and Lennis, Wally, Jon, Thomas and Dorothy.
Shutterstock
Ernie Lively
The actor’s family confirmed on June 9 that he died of cardiac complications in Los Angeles on June 3. His wife, Elaine Lively, and his children, Lori, Jason, Robyn, Eric and Blake, were by his side. He was 74.
Henry Lamb/BEI/Shutterstock
Clarence Williams III
The Mod Squad alum died on June 6 after battling colon cancer, his manager confirmed to CNN the following day. He was 81. Williams was best known for playing Lincoln “Linc” Hayes on the crime drama from 1968 to 1973. He also starred on Mystery Woman and had a recurring voice role on American Dragon: Jake Long. His film credits include Purple Rain, The Butler and American Nightmares. The actor is survived by his sister Sondra Pugh, daughter Jamey Phillips, niece Suyin Shaw, grandnephews Elliot Shaw and Ese Shaw and grandniece Azaria Verdin.
Alexandra Wyman/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Arlene Golonka
The Chicago native, known for her roles on The Andy Griffith Show and Mayberry R.F.D., died on May 31 at age 85. Her family told The Hollywood Reporter that Golonka suffered from Alzheimer’s disease and died at a California memory care facility.
United Artists/Kobal/Shutterstock
Romy Walthall
The Face/Off actress’s son, director/actor Morgan Krantz, announced her death via Instagram, captioning a series of photos, “Rip Mom. I love you.” She died after suffering cardiac arrest at age 57. 
Courtesy Morgan Krantz/Instagram
Lil Loaded
The Texas-based rapper, whose real name was Dashawn Robertson, died at age 20 on May 31. A cause of death was not determined at the time, per NBC News.
Courtesy Lil Loaded/Instagram
B.J. Thomas
The Grammy winner, known for hits like “Hooked on a Feeling” and “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head,” died on May 29 at his Arlington, Texas, home. His reps said complications from lung cancer caused his death.
Mark Reinstein/Shutterstock
Gavin MacLeod
The Love Boat star died on May 29, according to Ron Celona, artistic director of the Coachella Valley Repertory. MacLeod, who played news writer Murray Slaughter on The Mary Tyler Moore Show, was 90 at the time of his death.
Adam Scull/Shutterstock
Kevin Clark
The actor, best known for his role as Freddy Jones in 2003’s School of Rock, died on May 26 after being struck by a vehicle while riding his bicycle. He was 32. 
Courtesy of Kevin Clark/Facebook; Shutterstock
Samuel E. Wright
The actor died at age 74, according to a Facebook announcement from the town of Montgomery, New York. Wright voiced Sebastian in Disney’s The Little Mermaid in 1989, signing Oscar-nominated hits such as “Kiss the Girl” and “Under the Sea.” He enjoyed a long stage career, even originating the part of Mufasa in The Lion King on Broadway, and cofounding the Hudson Valley Conservatory. 
“Sam and his family have impacted countless Hudson Valley youth always inspiring them to reach higher and dig deeper to become the best version of themselves,” the town said in the statement. “On top of his passion for the arts and his love for his family, Sam was most known for walking into a room and simply providing PURE JOY to those he interacted with. He loved to entertain, he loved to make people smile and laugh and he loved to love.”
Alex Berliner/BEI/Shutterstock
Paul Mooney
Born Paul Gladney, the comic died on May 19 in his Oakland, California, home at age 79, his rep told The Hollywood Reporter. His writing credits included hits such as Sanford and Sons and Good Times, and he acted on screen as Sam Cooke in the 1978 film The Buddy Holly Story. He also made several appearances on Chappelle’s Show.
Broadimage/Shutterstock
Charles Grodin
The Beethoven actor died on May 18 at the age of 86. His son, Nicholas, confirmed the news to The New York Times, telling them he died at home in Connecticut of bone marrow cancer
Gregory Pace/BEI/Shutterstock
Tawny Kitaen
The 59-year-old actress, best known for her role as the iconic video vixen in several 1980s Whitesnake music videos, was found dead on May 7. “We just want to say thank you for all of you, her fans and friends, for always showing her such support and love. You gave her life everyday. We miss her and love her and we know her legacy will live on forever,” daughters Wynter Finley and Raine Finley announced on May 8.
Broadimage/Shutterstock
Eric McClure
The former NASCAR driver’s fiancée, Keira Brinegar Tibbs, confirmed via Facebook on May 2 that McClure had died at age 42. “Eric, I will love you until my last breath….please wait for me until then,” she wrote. “I love you more.”
NASCAR also issued a statement via Twitter the same day, writing, “We are saddened to learn of the passing of former driver and owner Eric McClure. NASCAR extends its deepest condolences to Eric’s family and friends.”
Courtesy Eric McClure/Instagram
Olympia Dukakis
“My beloved sister, Olympia Dukakis, passed away this morning in New York City,” the Moonstruck star’s brother Apollo wrote via Facebook on May 1. “After many months of failing health she is finally at peace and with her [late husband] Louis [Zorich].”
Broadimage/Shutterstock
Johnny Crawford
Crawford, who was one of the original Mouseketeers, died on April 29 at the age of 75. His family confirmed his passing, saying he “slipped away peacefully” with his wife, Charlotte, by his side. While he was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and had contracted both COVID-19 and pneumonia, his cause of death was not specified. The actor was best known for his time on The Mickey Mouse Club, starring in Matinee Theatre and playing Mark McCain on The Rifleman for five seasons, which earned him an Emmy nomination at the age of 13.
Shutterstock
Anne Douglas
The philanthropist and wife of late Kirk Douglas died in her Beverly Hills home on April 29, the family confirmed. “She brought out the best in all of us, especially our father,” stepson Michael Douglas told Variety. “Dad would never have had the career he did without Anne’s support and partnership. … She will always be in our hearts.”
Anne and Kirk were married for 65 years before his February 2020 death and shared two sons: Peter and Eric.
Capture Pix/Shutterstock
Jim Steinman
The iconic rock songwriter and producer died on April 19 at age 73. Steinman composed Meat Loaf’s 1977 debut album, Bat Out of Hell, considered one of the best-selling albums of all time with more than 50 million copies sold. He also wrote many popular songs, including Celine Dion’s “It’s All Coming Back to Me Now,” Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse of the Heart” and Meat Loaf’s “I Would Do Anything for Love (But I Won’t Do That).” The Connecticut state medical examiner confirmed Steinman’s death to Variety but did not announce the cause of death.
Evan Agostini/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Walter Mondale
The former vice president, who worked alongside President Jimmy Carter, died on April 19 at the age of 93. The politician, who ran for president in 1984 against Ronald Reagan, passed away at his home in Minneapolis, Minnesota, surrounded by family, spokesperson Kathy Tunheim confirmed at the time. “As proud as we were of him leading the presidential ticket for Democrats in 1984, we know that our father’s public policy legacy is so much more than that,” the family said in a statement via CNN.
AP/Shutterstock
Mike Mitchell
The lead guitarist for the Kingsmen died on his 77th birthday on April 16. Mitchell (L) cofounded the band in 1959, and they became best known for their rock cover of “Louie Louie.” His cause of death was not announced. He is survived by two children, Samantha and Max.
MediaPunch/Shutterstock
Sunday Burquest
The Survivor alum died on April 18 after a long battle with esophageal and ovarian cancer. The reality TV star previously beat breast cancer, eight years before revealing she had been diagnosed with two forms of the disease in June 2020.
Courtesy of Sunday Burquest/Instagram
Felix Silla
The actor, who wore a full-body hair suit and hat as Cousin Itt in the original The Addams Family series, died on April 16 after a battle with pancreatic cancer. He was 84.
Shutterstock
Helen McCrory
The Peaky Blinders actress’ husband, Damian Lewis, revealed via Twitter on April 16 that McCrory had died after battling cancer. She was 52. “She died as she lived. Fearlessly,” Lewis wrote in his “heartbroken” tribute. “God, we love her and know how lucky we are to have had her in our lives. She blazed so brightly. Go now, Little One, into the air, and thank you.”
Ian West/PA Images/INSTAR
Adam Perkins
The Vine star, best known for his popular “Welcome to Chili’s” video, died on April 11. He was 24.
His twin brother Patrick Perkins announced the news, saying, “I can’t even really put into words what this loss means for me,” he wrote via Instagram. “I’m often asked the question, ‘What’s it like to be a twin?’ and my response is usually, ‘What’s it like to NOT be a twin?’ ”
He continued: “Being a twin is a very central part of my identity. It’s all I’ve known. And I’m struggling to find the words to explain what it will be like for me to live in this world without him. My best friend.”
Courtesy of Adam Perkins/Instagram
Bernie Madoff
The financier, who was the mastermind behind an investment scheme that defrauded thousands of clients, died of natural causes on April 14, per the Associated Press. Madoff was serving 150 years in prison after pleading guilty to fraud charges in 2009. He was 82.
MediaPunch/Shutterstock
Gerren Taylor
The star of the reality docuseries Baldwin Hills died on April 11 at age 30. A cause of death was not released.
BET released a statement about Taylor’s passing, saying, “The entire BET family mourns the passing of one of our own, Ms. Ashley Gerren Taylor, beloved star of Baldwin Hills. The untimely passing of such a young, bright light is difficult to process. BET’s thoughts and prayers go out to Ashley’s friends and family during this time.”
Picture Perfect/Shutterstock
Joseph Siravo
The Sopranos star died on April 11, following a battle with colon cancer. He was 64.
“I was by his side when my dear father passed away this morning, peacefully, in his beloved Treehouse,” Siravo’s daughter, Allegra Okarmus, wrote on Instagram. “We are both so lucky to be so intensely loved. I am so immensely grateful to have had him here on earth and I know that he hasn’t gone very far. He had many credits, but his favorite one by far was that of Nonno Joe.” Siravo was best known for playing Johnny Soprano in The Sopranos and Angelo DeCarlo in the First National Tour of Jersey Boys.
Andy Kropa/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Nikki Grahame
The Big Brother UK star died on April 9 after a lifelong battle with anorexia. “Nikki Grahame was a much loved housemate and a huge part of the Big Brother family. We are shocked and saddened by this awful news and our thoughts are with her family,” a statement posted on the British reality show’s official Twitter account read.
Ken McKay/ITV/Shutterstock
DMX
The rapper died on April 9, seven days after an overdose, his family confirmed in a statement. “We are deeply saddened to announce today that our loved one, DMX, birth name of Earl Simmons, passed away at 50 years old at White Plains Hospital with his family by his side after being placed on life support for the past few days,” the statement read. “Earl was a warrior who fought till the very end.”
Courtesy of DMX/Instagram
Prince Philip
“It is with deep sorrow that Her Majesty The Queen has announced the death of her beloved husband, His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh. His Royal Highness passed away peacefully this morning at Windsor Castle,” Buckingham Palace confirmed in a statement on April 9. The duke was released from the hospital in March after being admitted one month prior as a “precautionary measure” and undergoing a “successful” surgery for a preexisting condition.  
David Hartley/Shutterstock
Quindon Tarver
The former child star, best known for his appearance in Romeo + Juliet, was killed in a car accident in April 2021. He was 38.
Tarver’s uncle reflected on his nephew’s life on The Dallas Morning News, saying, “He had been through so much, but his focus was on his music,” he explained. “He was getting ready to make his comeback. He had been in the studio working on a project that was supposed to be released this year.”
YouTube
Paul Ritter
The British actor — known for his performances in the Harry Potter and James Bond franchises, along with the U.K.’s Friday Night Dinner — died in April at age 54 after battling a brain tumor.
Steve Meddle/Shutterstock
Linda Torres
The Big Ang alum died on April 1 after contracting the coronavirus, Janine Detore revealed via Instagram. “You’ll be missed,” she wrote. “Your bday was in between me and Angela [Raiola]. You were our family. We love you always. Angela, take care of @blondelindavh1 #onlythegooddieyoung.”
Charles Sykes/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Deshayla Harris
The Bad Girls Club star was identified as one of two people killed on March 26 during shootings in Virginia Beach, Virginia. She was 29. “We do believe that she truly is, at this point in time, an innocent victim that was probably struck by stray gunfire in some regards,” Virginia Beach Police Chief Paul Neudigate said in a press conference on March 27.
Courtesy of Deshayla Harris/Instagram
Beverly Cleary
The children’s book author died on March 25 at her home in Carmel, California. She was 104. HarperCollins announced Cleary’s death the following day in a statement. “We are saddened by the passing of Beverly Cleary, one of the most beloved children’s authors of all time,” HarperCollins Children’s Books president Suzanne Murphy said. “Her timeless books are an affirmation of her everlasting connection to the pleasures, challenges, and triumphs that are part of every childhood.” Cleary was best known for writing Henry Huggins, The Mouse and the Motorcycle, Beezus and Romona and her memoirs My Own Two Feet and A Girl from Yamhill.
YouTube
Richard Gilliland
The character actor died in Los Angeles on March 18 after battling a brief illness. Throughout his decades-long career, Gilliland was best known for his work on the CBS sitcom Designing Women, where he met his wife, Jean Smart.
Paul A Hebert/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Jessica Walter
The Arrested Development alum died in her sleep on March 24, Deadline reported the following day. The Emmy-winning actress’ daughter, Brooke Bowman, confirmed her death in a statement on March 25. “Her greatest pleasure was bringing joy to others through her storytelling both on screen and off,” she said of her late mother. “While her legacy will live on through her body of work, she will also be remembered by many for her wit, class and overall joie de vivre.”
MediaPunch/Shutterstock
George Segal
Us confirmed on March 23 that The Goldbergs star died at the age of 87. “The family is devastated to announce that this morning George Segal passed away due to complications from bypass surgery,” the Oscar-nominated actor’s wife, Sonia Segal, told Us in a statement.
Jim Smeal/Shutterstock
Neville ‘Bunny Wailer’ Livingston
The reggae music pioneer, who was a founding member of the Wailers with Bob Marley, died in his native Jamaica on March 2 of complications from a stroke that he had suffered in July 2020. He was 73.
Mediapunch/Shutterstock
Prince Markie Dee
The Fat Boys rapper (real name Mark Anthony Morales) died on February 18, one day before his 53rd birthday.
WENN/Newscom/MEGA
Rush Limbaugh
The Rush Limbaugh Show host died on February 17 from lung cancer at age 70. His wife, Kathryn Adams Limbaugh, confirmed the news on his popular show and via Facebook. “We, the Limbaugh family, are deeply saddened to announce that our beloved Rush has died,” her statement via Rush’s official Facebook page read. “Rush Hudson Limbaugh III will forever be the greatest of all time, a courageous, brilliant gentle giant and radio pioneer. Our entire family is so thankful to everyone who prayed and cared for Rush, especially the audience he adored. Rush’s love for our country and for all of you will live on eternally.”
Shutterstock
Vincent Jackson
The former NFL wide receiver’s body was discovered in his Florida hotel room on February 15 after checking in one month prior. While authorities saw no sign of trauma at the scene, they opened an investigation into the 38-year-old’s death. Jackson played in the NFL for 11 years from 2005 to 2016. He is survived by his wife, Lindsey VanDeweghe.
Chris O'Meara/AP/Shutterstock
Brayden Smith
The five-time Jeopardy! champion, who competed on some of late host Alex Trebek’s final episodes, died at 24. “We are heartbroken to share that our dear Brayden Smith recently passed away unexpectedly,” his mom, Debbie Smith, tweeted on February 12. “We are so grateful that Brayden was able to live out his dream on @jeopardy.” The team behind the long-running game show shared a statement soon after, tweeting, “The JEOPARDY! family is heartbroken by the tragic loss of Brayden Smith. He was kind, funny and absolutely brilliant. Our deepest condolences go out to Brayden’s family. He will be missed.”
YouTube
Chick Corea
The jazz pianist, who won 23 Grammys and was nominated over 60 times during his career, died from cancer on February 9 at his home in Tampa Bay, Florida. He was 79.
Mike Carlson/Invision/AP/Shutterstock
Previous articleCritics say Biden’s drug czar pick at odds with push for ‘harm reduction’ policies
Next articleBank credit grows by 6.84%, deposits by 9.94%, shows RBI data